Logo Universitat Bremen
Page path:
  • About us
  • Participating Research Groups and Institutions

Participating Research Groups and Institutions

The following departments and institutes at the University of Bremen and non-university institutions participate in the MARUM:

University of Bremen


Subject Area Head
General Geology - Marine Geology Prof. Dr. Gerhard Bohrmann
Geophysics - Geodynamics Prof. Dr. Marta Pérez Gussinyé
Geosystem Modeling Prof. Dr. Michael Schulz
Geotechnics Prof. Dr. Achim Kopf
Isotope Geochemistry Prof. Dr. Simone Kasemann
Marine Engineering Geology Prof. Dr. Tobias Mörz
Marine Geophysics Prof. Dr. Tilo von Dobeneck
Marine Geology Prof. Dr. Gerold Wefer
Marine Sedimentology Prof. Dr. Dierk Hebbeln
Marine Technology - Environmental Research Prof. Dr. Volkhard Spieß
Micropaleontology - Paleoceanography Prof. Dr. Michal Kucera
Mineralogy Prof. Dr. Andreas Lüttge
Modelling of Sedimentation Processes Prof. Dr. Katrin Huhn
Organic Geochemistry Prof. Dr. Kai-Uwe Hinrichs
Paleoceanography Prof. Dr. Heiko Pälike
Petrology of the Ocean Crust Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Bach
Sedimentology - Palaeoceanography Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Henrich


Environmental Physics

Subject Area Head
Inverse Modelling of the Earth System Prof. Dr. Mihalis Vrekoussis
Oceanography Prof. Dr. Monika Rhein
Physics and Chemistry of the Atmosphere Prof. Dr. John Philip Burrows

Marine Biology / Marine Chemistry

Subject Area Head
Microbial Ecophysiology Prof. Dr. Michael W. Friedrich
Marine Botany Prof. Dr. Kai Bischof

Mathematics / Informatics

Subject Area Head
Applied Analysis Prof. Dr. Jens Rademacher
Marine Environmental Technology / Deep-Sea Engineering Prof. Ralf Bachmayer



Subject Area Head
Climate Geography Prof. Dr. Ben Mar­zei­on

Social and Law Sciences

Subject Area Head
Governance and Regional Development Prof. Dr. Michael Flitner


Scientifically independent groups at MARUM

Title Head
Sediment Geochemistry PD Dr. habil. Matthias Zabel
Max Planck Research Group "Organic paleobiochemistry" Dr. Christian Hallmann
DFG-Emmy-Noether-Group "Hydrothermal Geomicrobiology" Dr. Solveig Bühring
Research Group "Sea Level and Coastal Changes" Dr. Alessio Rovere
Helmholtz Young Investigators Group SEAPUMP Dr. Morten Hvitfeldt Iversen
DFG-Emmy-Noether-Group and Research Group "Marine Glycobiology" Dr. Jan-Hendrik Hehemann
DFG Heisenberg Group "Archaeal Life in the Ocean" PD Dr. habil. Martin Könneke
Experimental Geomechanics Dr. Matt Ikari
Helmholtz-Nachwuchsgruppe PaleoSeaIce and Climate Dynamics - PALICE Dr. Juliane Müller


Former Research Groups

Title Head
Coastal Dynamics PD Dr. habil. Christian Winter
DFG-Heisenberg-Group "From Biomolecule to Geomolecule" Dr. Gerard Versteegh
DFG-Heisenberg-Group "Marine Sedimentation Systems" PD Dr. habil. Till J.J. Hanebuth
DFG-Emmy-Noether-Group "MOVE" Dr. Vera Schlindwein
Helmholtz Young Investigators Group "Applications of molecular 14C analysis for the study of sedimentation processes and carbon cycling in marine sediments" Prof. Dr. Gesine Mollenhauer


Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)

Title Head
Biogeochemistry Prof. Dr. Boris Koch
Climate Dynamics Prof. Dr. Thomas Jung
Geomicrobiology Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius
Marine Geochemistry PD Dr. habil. Sabine Kasten
Marine Geology and Paleontology Prof. Dr. Ralf Tiedemann
Organic Sedimentology Prof. Dr. Gesine Mollenhauer
Paleo-climate Dynamics Prof. Dr. Gerrit Lohmann
Physical Oceanography of the Polar Seas Prof. Dr. Torsten Kanzow

Jacobs University

Research Institute Senckenberg (SNG)

Title Head
Marine Geology Prof. Dr. André Freiwald

Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology (MPI)

Title Head
Department of Molecular Ecology Prof. Dr. Rudolf Amann
Department of Biogeochemistry Prof. Dr. Marcel Kuypers
Department of Symbiosis Prof. Dr. Nicole Dubilier

Center for Tropical Marine Ecology (ZMT)

Title Head
Geology of the Tropics Prof. Dr. Hildegard Westphal