Logo Universitat Bremen
 
Page path:
  • Home
  • Holger Kuhlmann

Dr. Holger Kuhlmann

Research Staff

Group: 

Core Repository

Phone: 

+49 421 218-65566

Fax:

+49 421 218-9865566

Email:

Room: 

MARUM 1, 0230

Holger Kuhlmann
 

Current position

IODP Bremen Core Repository (BCR) Superintendent

Responsibilities

Our task at the IODP Bremen Core Repository (BCR) is to store, preserve and manage the collection of over 150 km of deep-sea core material collected over several decades by the DSDP, ODP, and IODP programs, and to provide samples to the scientific community worldwide for diverse research projects. Our collection comprises all sediment and hard-rock cores collected through these programs from the Atlantic and Arctic Oceans and the Mediterranean Sea.

Research

My interests focus on land-ocean interactions that are documented in marine sediments. The tropical and subtropical regions of the African Continent are of interest because of their climate sensitivity incorporating important meridional climatic and oceanographic gradients. The intense coastal upwelling off NW Africa plays an important role for climate relevant biogeochemical cycles. Additionally, this region receives high amounts of lithogenic material by aeolian transport. In SE Africa fluvial transport is dominant, e.g off Zambezi river. All these processes results in high sedimentation rates of up to 100 cm/kyr, which allow high resolution analses of the retrieved archives.

During various expeditions a large pool of sediment cores were retrieved (PANGAEA-database). To investigate all sediment cores I used quick and non-destructive core logging tools. Physical properties (e.g. magnetic susceptibility, lightness) were obtained using the Multi-Sensor Core Logger (MSCL).
From the X-ray fluorescence (XRF) Core Scanner we receive element intensities/concentrations of the climate relevant elements.

The obtained dataset is used for stratigraphic purposes and reconstructions of terrigeneous input and marine productivity contributions to the sediment (e.g. accumulation rates).
Detailed high resolution analyses of millennial cyclicities and abrupt climate changes during the Holocene and last glacial time period were performed.
The achieved age models for the sediment cores additionally build the basis for time slice approaches investigating micropalaeontological and geochemical parameters for a comparison of present conditions with e.g. Younger Dryas, last glacial maximum (LGM). High-resolution Holocene sequences of NW Africa were analyzed to figure out the origin, teleconnections and impact of decadal and millenial cycles on the environment.

Logo Universitat Bremen
 
Seitenpfad:

Dr. Holger Kuhlmann

Wissenschaftliches Personal

Gruppe: 

Kernlager

Telefon: 

+49 421 218-65566

Fax:

+49 421 218-9865566

E-Mail:

Raum: 

MARUM 1, 0230

Holger Kuhlmann
 

Position

IODP Bremen Core Repository (BCR) Superintendent

Aufgaben

Unsere Aufgabe im IODP Kernlager Bremen ist es über 150 km Bohrkerne aus dem marinen Bereich zu lagern und zu erhalten, sowie Wissenschaftlern weltweit Zugang zu Proben diesen Materials zu ermöglichen. Die Bohrkerne wurden in den vergangenen 50 Jahren von den Ozeanbohrprogrammen DSDP, ODP und IODP im Bereich des Atlantiks, des Arktischen Ozeans und des Mittelmeeres erbohrt.

Forschung

Als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter analysiere ich Sedimentkerne vor der Küste Afrikas. Die besondere Sensitivität der tropischen und subtropischen Regionen Afrikas gegenüber Klimaschwankungen machen sie besonders interessant für die Rekonstruktion der Paläozeanographie und des Klimas. Der starke Küstenauftrieb vor NW Afrika z.B. spielt eine wichtige Rolle für das Klima beeinflussende biogeochemische Kreisläufe. Das kontinentale Klima wird in den marinen Sedimenten durch den variierenden Anteil terrigenen Materials, dass über Flüsse (z.B. Sambesi (SE Afrika) und als Staub in den Ozean transportiert wird reflektiert. Die Kombination beider Prozesse führt zu außergewöhnlich hohen Sedimentationraten von bis zu 100 cm/ka.

Waehrend vieler Expeditionen konnte rund um Afrika eine große Anzahl von Sedimentkernen, gewonnen werden (PANGAEA-Datenbank), die mit schnell und zerstörungsfrei arbeitenden Kernscannverfahren bearbeitet wurden. Physikalische Sedimenteigenschaften (z.B. magnetische Suszeptibilität und Helligkeit) wurden mit dem Multi-Sensor Core Logger (MSCL) analysiert. Mit dem Röntgenfluoreszenzanalysescanner (RFA) wurde die Intensität / Konzentration klimarelevanter Elemente bestimmt.

Die erhobenen Daten wurden zur zeitlichen Einstufung der Sedimentkerne, sowie zur Rekonstruktion der terrigenen und marinen Sedimentationgeschichte genutzt (Abb.2).
Die erstellten Altersmodelle bilden auch die Grundlage für die mikropaläontologische und geochemische Bearbeitung verschiedener Zeitscheiben und deren Vergleich mit rezenten Bedingungen.
Außerdem wurden hochauflösende Detailuntersuchungen an Kernen vor NW Afrika durchgeführt die hochfrequente Zyklizitäten und abrupte Klimaänderungen seit der letzten Eiszeit dokumentieren.